Summer reading challenge 2017

Have you read all the books you own?

giphy

As stated in a previous post, I work in a bookstore. In the past several months, I’ve actually managed to downsize the number of clothes, shoes, and everything else I own. But that darn book collection. #Sorrynotsorry.

Every week there are new promotions at the job so new books are coming out by new people all the time that I end up adding to my list. Or I uncover something that I didn’t realize I had an interest in until I stumbled upon the book by accident. Not to mention the free books: Advanced Reader’s Copies and books the publisher doesn’t want back when it’s time to take them off the shelf.

Pending reads:

FullSizeRender (5)

While trying to create a plan for packing my stuff and getting ready for the move back to NYC, I decided that I would challenge myself to read all the books currently in my library over the course of the summer. I’m sitting on books like the 2017 Pulitzer Prize Winner “Underground Railroad” by Colson Whitehead. I bought it by the 2nd week of my employment last year… and I’ve read 5 pages ever since. It kinda just came down to either read this book or read them 3 books you need to know inside out for class next week. And then, of course, other books came out that I wanted to read etc etc. Once January rolled around I started reading “non-fiction” heavy. It started with some self-help books about organization, typical New Year, getcho life, subject matter. Then I read “Quiet” about introverts and since then I’ve just been reading a bunch of books to help me understand self and also to boost my reach toward personal goals I set for myself. (So basically one big ass excuse for not having read this book I bought eons ago).

Pretty much: I need to get my life and read what’s in my library before I buy any more books. This is my challenge. I just finished the newest Samantha Irby, We are never meeting in real life

FullSizeRender (6)  and I finally started on the “Best American Short Stories 2016” that I bought the same time as Underground Railroad (don’t judge me)

All summer ’17: giphy (1)

 

Is your Goodreads “to read” shelf getting a lil cray?

14 thoughts on “Summer reading challenge 2017

  1. Girl yes this is soo me! But lucky I don’t have to house all of my book I get them from the library and then return them! But my goodreads list is a mess, I need to clean it up, but I love reading it will forever be my favorite pastime! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Last year I challenged myself to read one book a month, major failure. I only read 2 books that year. So this year I told myself I’d do one book every 2 months. I’m only on my second book for the year (smh). Have fun reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. On my list of goals for July, I’ve stated that I will finish a book that I have picked up several times and attempted to read, but can never quite find the time to actually read. I LOVE reading but don’t get to read as often as I’d like to anymore. Hopefully, I can achieve my July goal, and get on track to reading one book a month.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You can do it! For me, I do most of my reading during commuting since I take the bus and train. I rarely ever just sit at home and read. If I do I’m pretty much already to the juicy part of the book and can’t put it down.

      Like

Leave a Reply

